The 2018 Shortlist – The Weight of The Political

On June 28, 2018, for the tenth year Haus der Kulturen der Welt and Stiftung Elementarteilchen will award the Internationaler Literaturpreis for translated contemporary pieces of literature to an author-translator duo.

The jury explains their choices for the 2018 Shortlist:

“The weight of the political runs through the texts of this year’s shortlist like a common, explosive thread. As varied as the themes and their negotiation in the nominated books are, the works also point decidedly beyond themselves, confidently seizing the world and its current upheavals. They reveal the gaps between the newsflashes, uncovering the multitude of realities beneath the surfaces: Nothing in history or the present circumstances is inevitable; there are always alternatives. What links the writings are the drastic to poetic insecurities with which they indicate the absolute necessity of literary storytelling.”

This year’s jury members are Verena Auffermann, Katy Derbyshire, Frank Heibert, Jens Hillje, Tobias Lehmkuhl, Daniel Medin and Daniela Seel.

The Internationaler Literaturpreis – Haus der Kulturen der Welt is an established award for international contemporary works of fiction and their first translation into German. With the aim of opening the German-language canon to literature that expands narrative, linguistic and thus social horizons beyond national spheres of experience, it has been awarded annually for the work of a duo of author and translator since 2009. The prize is endowed with €35,000, with €20,000 for the author and €15,000 for the translator.

All of the nominated authors, translators and the awardees will gather on June 28, 2018 starting at 6 pm for readings and talks at the Celebration of the Shortlist and Award Ceremony. More information about the Shortlist, the Celebration program, and encounters between reading groups with authors and translators (starting at 4pm) at

The Internationaler Literaturpreis is awarded by Haus der Kulturen der Welt together with Stiftung Elementarteilchen. In cooperation with Literarisches Colloquium Berlin (LCB), Verband deutschsprachiger Übersetzer literarischer und wissenschaftlicher Werke (VdÜ), Kurt Wolff Stiftung (KWS), Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels Landesverband Berlin-Brandenburg e.V., Buchhandlung ocelot, and Kulturkaufhaus Dussmann, presented by Deutsche Welle, taz, Merkur, and FluxFM.

The 2018 Shortlist:

Die Geschichte einer kurzen Ehe 
Anuk Arudpragasam | Hannes Meyer
Hanser Berlin 2018
English: The Story of a Brief Marriage

Das Leben des Vernon Subutex
Virginie Despentes | Claudia Steinitz
Kiepenheuer & Witsch 2017
French: Vernon Subutex

Nach der Ewigkeit
Maxim Ossipow | Birgit Veit
Hollitzer Verlag 2018
Russian | First published in German translation

Ivana Sajko | Alida Bremer
Voland & Quist 2017
Croatian: Ljubavni roman

Die Tagesordnung
Éric Vuillard | Nicola Denis
Matthes & Seitz Berlin 2018
French: L`Ordre du Jour

Eliot Weinberger | Beatrice Faßbender
Berenberg Verlag 2017
English: The Ghost of Birds

Tenth Internationaler Literaturpreis – Haus der Kulturen der Welt 2018
Announcement of the award-winning duo: Tue, Jun 12, 2018
The Celebration of the Shortlist & Award Ceremony: Thu, Jun 28, 2018, starting at 4 pm

Powered by Blogger.